Best Support Tools for Slack and Microsoft Teams (2026)

Last Updated
Published On
For one support queue across Slack and Microsoft Teams in 2026, compare Plain, Pylon and ClearFeed (with Front and Zendesk for Slack-heavy teams), and settle plan limits and tenant setup before features. On Plain, Foundation syncs up to 25 Slack channels and has no Teams, Teams and SLAs start on Horizon, and a Teams shared channel needs B2B direct connect switched on in both companies' Microsoft Entra tenants. Teams rarely comes alone: in 378 of the 445 conversations with B2B support leaders and engineers where Teams was named as a support channel (June 2025 to September 2026), Slack was named too. Plain is the agentic infrastructure for customer work. It's a B2B customer support platform (help desk), and we publish this guide; each vendor appears only where its own pages support the facts, checked October 2026.
Why do Slack and Microsoft Teams end up in the same support queue?
Teams tends to arrive as an addition, not a replacement. Of the 445 conversations where Teams was named as a support channel, 378 also named Slack and only 67 named Teams without it. Most were wider still: 372 of the 445 named three or more channels, and 369 named email. A Teams customer is usually one more account in a Slack-first book of business, so the real decision is one queue or two tools.
Two tools cost more than two subscriptions. Two queues means two sets of SLA clocks, two reports to reconcile, and a customer whose history is split by the channel they happened to use that day. When the Teams account escalates, the person picking it up can't see last month's Slack thread unless they go and look.
At Framer, a 16-person support team spread across the globe runs enterprise support across Slack, Microsoft Teams, and email. Framer segments enterprise support across Slack, Microsoft Teams, and email, with dedicated channels for their customers, from enterprise to agencies. Sanity replaced Zendesk and a custom Slack integration with Plain, unifying Slack, MS Teams, and email support while eliminating engineering maintenance overhead.
Which support tools handle both Slack and Microsoft Teams?
The table comes from each vendor's own pricing and product pages as of October 2026, with list prices on annual billing. Where a page didn't name a channel or a price, the cell says so.
Tool | Slack for customer support (vendor's page) | Microsoft Teams (vendor's page, plan) | Published starting price (as of Oct 2026) | How AI is priced |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Plain | Yes; ingestion mode per channel; 25 channels on Foundation, unlimited on Horizon | Horizon and Frontier | Foundation $45/user/month billed annually; Teams from Horizon $99/user/month (min 3 seats) | Credits (1,000 / 2,500 a month; Customer Agent 100 credits per resolution) |
Pylon | Yes, Slack Connect and Slack Community on every plan | Advanced and Enterprise | Professional $89/seat (annual contract); Teams from Advanced $139 | Credits |
ClearFeed | Yes (External Helpdesk) | Yes (External Helpdesk) | See ClearFeed's pricing page | Not stated on vendor page |
Front | Yes, including Slack Connect | Not listed on their pages (Oct 2026) | Starter $25/seat/month billed annually | Copilot $20/seat add-on; Autopilot from $0.05/conversation |
Zendesk | Listed as a Suite messaging channel | Not listed on their pages (Oct 2026) | Not stated on vendor page | Not stated on vendor page |
Only Plain, Pylon and ClearFeed list Teams as a channel for customers on their own pages. Front and Zendesk are here because they handle Slack; the pages fetched for this guide don't name Teams, so ask them directly. On both Plain and Pylon, Teams is a plan decision: Horizon on Plain, Advanced on Pylon.
How each tool handles Slack and Teams
Plain
Best for: B2B teams that want Slack, Teams and email in one queue, with SLAs (Horizon and up) and AI applied the same way to every channel.
In Plain (Slack, Microsoft Teams), a Slack message and a Teams message become threads in the same queue, with the same labels, SLAs and workflows as every other channel, and your reply posts back where the customer wrote. For Slack you set an ingestion mode per channel: time-based, AI-based, one-to-one, manual emoji (suited to a noisy community channel) or API-only, where your own integration calls createThreadFromSlackMessage. Foundation syncs up to 25 Slack channels; Horizon and Frontier sync unlimited.
Teams is on Horizon and Frontier (Teams docs). Plain replies as the Plain bot by default; each teammate can authorise their own Teams account (Authorize replies) so replies appear under their name and they can @mention Teams users. Tenants group the people you support into their organisation, created from a customer's email domain, a connected CRM or the API, so a Slack thread and a Teams thread from one company show the same customer and the same tier.
Every AI feature in Plain is opt-in. The Customer Agent (formerly Ari), Plain's customer-facing AI agent, is available on every plan and charged per resolution at 100 credits from the plan's monthly allowance. Sidekick, the agent-facing assistant, has no channel to the customer: in Slack it runs in Discussion channels and never in a customer channel, and it hands off to a person or to the Customer Agent. That boundary is architectural, not a setting.
Sourcegraph migrated 26,000 tickets from their ticketing tool, brought roughly 100 Slack channels into Plain, and had email and Slack running within days.
Watch for: Teams and SLAs need Horizon. Foundation caps at 5 user seats and 25 Slack channels. Discord needs Frontier.
Pylon
Best for: Slack-first B2B teams that also want Teams, WhatsApp or Discord, plus customer success tooling, in one product.
As of October 2026, Pylon's pricing page lists Professional at $89 and Advanced at $139 per seat, both on an annual contract (the page doesn't state a billing period); Enterprise is custom. Every plan covers Slack Connect, community Slack and internal channels; Microsoft Teams is on Advanced and Enterprise. Its AI features are billed in credits, and Pylon says it never bills per ticket. Pylon's Teams guide (dated 2026-10-27) says it connects via your company's Microsoft tenant, so the channel or group chat you use sits on your side; it can mirror a Teams channel into Slack; a group chat holds one open ticket at a time; and 1:1 Teams chats aren't supported. For a fuller comparison, see Plain vs Pylon.
Watch for: Teams starts on Advanced at $139 per seat.
ClearFeed
Best for: teams that want Slack Connect and Teams support but need tickets to stay in Zendesk, Freshdesk or another existing help desk.
ClearFeed's External Helpdesk supports customers via Slack Connect, Microsoft Teams, email and chat, with tickets held either in ClearFeed or in an outside system such as Zendesk, JSM, HubSpot, Service Cloud or Linear. The Integrations Edition bridges internal Slack to an existing tool, isn't available in Slack Connect channels, and provides no SLAs or service metrics. There's a 14-day free trial and 15% off annual plans; prices are on ClearFeed's pricing page.
Watch for: an overlay adds a layer rather than removing one. For customer channels, choose External Helpdesk.
Front
Best for: teams whose support runs mostly on email and who are adding Slack, Slack Connect included, to a shared inbox.
Front's Slack page sets Slack up as a channel next to email and SMS, connecting any channel you can reach, whether public, private or on Slack Connect, and Front can push conversations into Slack. Front's pricing, billed annually: Starter $25 per seat per month up to 10 seats, Professional $65 up to 50 seats, Enterprise $105. Copilot is a $20 per seat add-on and Autopilot starts at $0.05 per conversation.
Watch for: Teams isn't named on the Front pages checked for this guide; confirm with Front before you promise a Teams customer anything.
Zendesk
Best for: teams staying on Zendesk that want Slack in the mix.
Zendesk's pricing page lists Slack among the Suite's messaging channels, next to WhatsApp, WeChat and LINE, and side conversations loop a teammate in by email or Slack, linked to the ticket.
Watch for: Teams isn't named on the Zendesk pricing page checked, so confirm with Zendesk.
What does it take to support customers in Microsoft Teams shared channels?
You can't set this up the afternoon a customer asks. A shared channel lets people from your customer's Microsoft Entra tenant post in a Teams channel you own, and getting there is a two-company IT task. The documented steps for Plain (shared channels docs):
Allow each other with B2B direct connect. In the Microsoft Entra admin center, go to External Identities → Cross-tenant access settings → Organizational settings, add the other organisation, and allow inbound and outbound B2B direct connect. You and your customer each do this, and it needs the Security Administrator or Global Administrator role. Microsoft explains the model in its B2B direct connect overview.
Wait. Changes can take up to 24 hours across both tenants. Restricting access to specific users or groups needs a Microsoft Entra ID P1 licence.
Add the Plain app to each shared channel (Manage channel → Apps), version 1.0.8 or later; the Teams App Store version is always current.
Check admin consent. Plain reads shared-channel messages through Microsoft Graph, which needs admin consent in your Entra tenant. A Teams Administrator can view the app's permissions but can't grant consent; a Global Administrator can.
Done. A new top-level message from anyone who isn't a Plain user now creates a thread.
Start this in the sales cycle, not on the customer's first urgent message, because step 1 needs an admin on their side as well as yours. The channel lives in your tenant, and that isn't specific to Plain: Pylon's Teams guide describes the same model for its product. The base Teams install also needs a Microsoft 365 admin who can grant OAuth admin consent for the Plain app, so line that person up first.
What changes by plan when you run Slack and Teams together?
On Plain, the plan boundary tends to decide this before any feature does (pricing, annual billing):
Plan | Price (annual billing) | User seats | Slack channels | Microsoft Teams | SLAs | Credits per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Foundation | $45/user/month | Up to 5 | 25 | No | No | 1,000 |
Horizon | $99/user/month | 3 to 10 | Unlimited | Yes | Yes | 2,500 |
Frontier | Custom | Custom | Unlimited | Yes | Yes | Custom |
Viewer seats are free and unlimited on every plan, so engineers and account owners who read but don't reply cost nothing. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no credit card required. Discord is Frontier.
The arithmetic, at list prices on annual billing, seats only and before credit top-ups: a 3-person team that needs Teams is on Horizon at 3 × $99 = $297 per month. The same three seats on Pylon Advanced, Pylon's first plan with Teams, list at 3 × $139 = $417 on an annual contract (Pylon's page doesn't state the billing period), with credits bought separately. A 6-person team on Horizon is $594 per month. Foundation with all 5 seats is $225 per month and includes neither Teams nor SLAs. On both products, credit usage is extra and depends on how much AI you run.
SLAs are the other thing that changes at Horizon. SLA policies are applied by a workflow, most often on Thread created and Tier updated: Enterprise policy for Enterprise-tier tenants, Standard otherwise. Because the tier belongs to the tenant rather than the channel, a Teams thread and a Slack thread from the same tier get the same clock, and response targets only run while a thread needs a reply from your team.
Consolidation shows up in first response time. Northflank consolidated enterprise Slack channels, email, and in-app support into Plain, and with Plain, Northflank improved their FRT by 50%. At Voltage Park, the team reduced their FRT from north of an hour, to just 3 minutes with Plain, and by consolidating Slack and email into a single platform, the team eliminated fragmentation. Neither story involves Teams.
Here's the part that costs us: if no customer will ever ask for Teams and you have five or fewer repliers, Foundation is enough, and this question can wait until an enterprise account forces it. More on clocks: SLAs for Slack Connect support.
Which tool should you choose for your channel mix?
Slack-first today, Teams requests starting from enterprise accounts: Plain on Horizon. One queue, Teams and SLAs on the same plan at $99 per user per month billed annually, and tenants that make a company's Slack and Teams threads one customer.
Slack Connect-centred, with customer success tooling and Teams on the roadmap: Pylon Advanced, Teams from $139 per seat on an annual contract.
Zendesk or Freshdesk must stay the system of record: ClearFeed External Helpdesk, with Slack Connect and Teams in front of the help desk you already have.
Email first, Slack second, no Teams customers yet: Front, from $25 per seat per month billed annually.
Staying on Zendesk: Zendesk with Slack as a Suite messaging channel, and check Teams with Zendesk directly.
To see Slack and Teams in one queue, book a demo, or start the 7-day free trial with no credit card required.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best customer support tool for Microsoft Teams in 2026?
For B2B teams that also support customers in Slack, Plain, Pylon and ClearFeed list Teams as a channel for customers on their own pages. Plain includes Teams on Horizon ($99 per user per month, billed annually) in the same queue as Slack; Pylon includes it on Advanced ($139 per seat, annual contract); ClearFeed fits teams keeping an existing help desk.
Can one support queue handle both Slack and Microsoft Teams?
Yes. In Plain, Slack and Teams messages become threads in one queue with the same labels, SLAs and workflows, and tenants tie both channels to the same customer organisation.
Which Plain plan includes Microsoft Teams?
Horizon and Frontier. Foundation ($45 per user per month, billed annually, up to 5 seats) includes 25 Slack channels and email but not Teams or SLAs.
How do Microsoft Teams shared channels work for customer support?
Both companies enable B2B direct connect for each other in Microsoft Entra, which can take up to 24 hours; then you add the support app to each shared channel you own. In Plain, a new top-level message from anyone who isn't a Plain user creates a thread.
Can a support tool join a Teams channel that lives in my customer's tenant?
Plain's shared-channel setup is for a Teams channel you own, with your customer's tenant allowed through B2B direct connect. Pylon's own Teams guide says it also connects through your tenant, so the channel is hosted on your side.
How much does Slack and Teams support cost?
As of October 2026, at list prices on annual billing, three seats on Plain Horizon are $297 a month and three seats on Pylon Advanced are $417 a month. Both meter AI with credits on top.
